top of page
Screen Shot 2019-04-01 at 5.32.26 PM.png

JESSICA PIGG

Managing Your Home for God's Glory



homeman.jpg

As a homemaker and follower of Christ, we are all called to look after and manage our household well. Proverbs 31:27 states, “She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness”.

I don’t know about you, but the first couples months of my marriage revolved around me sitting with a box of cheese-nips watching Netflix marathons all day. I was definitely eating a whole loaf of idleness! Maybe it is not idleness you struggle with, maybe it is being caught up in your routine and your way of doing things. We can so easily get caught up in the cooking, cleaning, and organizing routine we have built our life around and forget the purpose of it all. We should have a Gospel centered mentality and Kingdom focus when managing our homes. The fact is, how we manage our homes has a direct influence over our lives, our husband, and our children.

Being a homemaker, God has called you to this specific tasks at this specific moment in your life. Whether the world or your friends think that it is silly to stay home and manage your home, putting effort and intentionality into your homemaking practices can go along way in glorifying God. One of my favorite books that draws focus to hospitality and home management is Practicing Hospitality by Pat Ennis and Lisa Tatlock. Ennis mentions how important it is to use your time and resources well, “Management helps us maximize our time, energy, and resources. Simply put, management helps us to be good stewards (103).”

Home Management Made Simple

Your home and your attitude won’t change overnight. Each day you must make a conscious decision to serve the Lord in your tasks at home. So turn off Netflix, get off the couch, and start mopping the floors! When you realize that homemaking is a beautiful calling that God created just for women, you cant help but to get excited! Call me crazy, but I love to roam the isles and Pinterest to find new cleaning products and PDF files for cleaning schedules and meal planning guides.

Don’t be afraid to pause. When I set my mind to something and I am on a schedule, I tend to ignore my surroundings. At first, I struggled with putting my schedule on hold when my husband came home for lunch. In my mind, I had a time table organized and I thought that I could not pause or I would get behind on my very organized schedule for that day. In your busyness, just be still and place your focus on people.

Plan. I see my husband studying and preparing for countless hours a week on his sermon. Looking into the original language, creating an outline, seeking the Lord through prayer, etc. Just like he spends time in prep, we are to do the same. There are a ton of resources out there for the single homemaker or busy wife and mother. PDF meal planning guides and weekly cleaning schedules for the homemaker is like Logos for the seminary student. By studying and preparing for your week, you manage your time more wisely and for the correct reasons.

Begin each day in the Word. I know to some women this may seem like a ‘duh’ moment. But, you would be surprised at how many women don't and how fast burnout and bitterness take root in their heart. I have found that when I start my day in the Word, my motivation and purpose for the day completely changes. My husband can definitely tell when I have missed a day! When I don't begin my day in the Word, my day becomes less about serving Him and my husband and more about what Jessica wants.

You will bring honor and glory to God when you work hard and serve Him. According to Ennis, “The truth is that there is no secret to managing your home with excellence - it is simply hard work!”

From biblicalwoman.com, where this post originally appeared.

bottom of page