top of page
Screen Shot 2019-04-01 at 5.32.26 PM.png

JESSICA PIGG

Who's Shoes Are You Wearing?



“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:1-2

They were on sale and they were so cute. I searched everywhere for a size 9 and much to my dismay, it was nowhere to be found. But, I needed them today. Like, now. I was headed to an event in which I needed them the next day. So, I did the next best thing. I bought a size too small. All in the name of fashion and looking good. The entire next day at the event I was literally dying. My feet had blisters and my toes were squashed together like they had been glued. They were aching and I immediately regretted buying a shoe that I would never in my life wear again.

God showed me a life lesson that day that I have never forgotten – we can’t run the race He has marked out for us trying to squeeze our feet into other’s shoes.

Those shoes weren’t meant for me. My feet weren’t created to fit into a half size smaller (especially a heel). Just like those shoes, I often find myself trying to squeeze my calling into the calling of someone else. I see what another woman is doing for the Lord and automatically feel as if the race that I am running is no longer adequate. I have this sudden urge that I need to start running her race. I attempt to slip my feet into her “shoes” and only end up discouraged, confused, and less effective than if I was doing what God called me to do. But the truth is, we are running the same race with Jesus as the Prize. The course He takes us on will look different, the “shoes” we wear will certainly be a different size and style, but the end goal is always Him.

You cannot run the race God has for you wearing your sister’s shoes. He has called you and uniquely created you to bring Him glory through your dreams, hopes, abilities, and spiritual gifts. Ephesians 2:10 reminds us of this truth, “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” The “we” in this verse includes you and me. You are His workmanship. You are created in Christ Jesus for good works that bring Him glory. You have a mission that God has already prepared for you to walk in. Don’t miss your story because you are afraid of it not being great enough. You have a race to run that looks different than your sisters, but you will see them at the finish line. He’s placed you where you are, with what you’ve got, for a purpose. Stop scrolling through everyone else’s race and run your own. Be inspired by others, be encouraged, be their cheerleader and prayer partner – but run your own race.

If you feel like your feet have blisters today, or like you are squeezing yourself into the calling of another while neglecting to do what God has created you to do, then assess why you are running. Are you running to keep up with someone else? Are you continually out of breath because you feel like you are lagging behind? Or are you walking in what God created you to do? Look to Jesus, your Savior, who slipped His feet into our human shoes so we could live a life of victory and purpose in Him. Slip your shoes off today, set your gaze back on Christ, and run the race of faith.

Girl, lace up your shoes and get to work.

bottom of page